Catholic Devotions

Roman Catholic devotions are "external practices of piety" which are not part of the official liturgy of the Catholic Church but are part of the popular spiritual practices of Catholics. Catholic devotions do not become part of liturgical worship, even if they are performed within a Catholic church, in a group, in the presence of a priest. 

Devotion to saints, with the Virgin Mary as the most prominent example, is a key characteristic of Roman Catholicism.  Catholic devotions have various forms, ranging from formalized, multi-day prayers such as novenas to activities which do not involve any prayers, such as Eucharistic Adoration outside Mass,  the wearing of scapulars, the veneration of the saints, and even horticultural practices such as maintaining a Mary's Garden, as found on our campus grounds.

Common examples of Catholic devotions include the Rosary, the Stations of the Cross, the Chaplet of Divine Mercy, Our Lady of Guadalupe, novenas to various saints, pilgrimages and devotions to the Blessed Sacrament, and the veneration of saintly images such as Our Lady of Perpetual Help, etc.


Want to learn more about a specific Catholic devotion?  Click below.

The Blessed Virgin Mary & The Rosary

The Divine Mercy Chaplet

Eucharistic Adoration

Novena Prayer to Our Lady of Perpetual Help

The Stations of the Cross


Online Giving

Online Giving

Secure and Convenient Donate now!